top of page

“Jersey Shore BBQ Delivers Authentic Texas Barbecue”

Melissa Beveridge of the Manasquan-BelmarPatch reviews Jersey Shore BBQ

.

The following is quoted directly from the article as published on the Manasquan-Belmar Patch:


When was the last time you had great barbecue? I’m talking about homemade and smoky barbecue. I’m guessing a long time. After all it’s difficult to find that authentic flavor of traditional barbecue in New Jersey, until now.

Until the other day, the last time I had memory worthy barbecue was at my family’s luau where there was a fresh pork roast that would be cooked for hours. This all changed the other day when I visited Jersey Shore BBQ in Belmar.

Despite its subdued outdoor appearance, this restaurant is anything but ordinary. Step inside and you will feel like you have entered Paula Dean’s dining room. The restaurant is not heavily adorned with knick knacks, instead it’s tastefully decorated in true Southern style – dark wood and checkered print. As I stepped inside, an older gentleman told me to sit wherever I wanted and I truly felt as if I was visiting someone’s home.

Once I sat down I started looking at the menu (which stated “Vegans Need Not Inquire”) to decide what the best order could be. Everything sounded amazing, but when it comes to barbecue, I love to eat pulled pork. So of course I’m going to choose the Grilled Pork Sandwich platter which comes with two sides. For the sides I chose macaroni and cheese along with onion rings. I also decided to order the Killer BBQ Nachos that comes with pulled pork and brisket or chicken with three cheeses, sour cream, and Kicken’ salsa and homemade guacamole.

While I was waiting for my food, I continued to check out the inside. On every table is a bottle full of their homemade barbecue sauce, which is a combination of sweet and smoky.

Jersey Shore BBQ is owned by Doug Walsh. Walsh is a NJ native that headed to Texas and opened up a catering business for six year (Jersey Shore BBQ also does catering) where he learned the ins and outs of true Texas barbecue. Seven months ago, Walsh opened the doors to Jersey Shore BBQ Mind you this isn’t his only job, he also works in NYC. I’m not the only one who’s loving this chunky and smoky barbecue. Recently, Jersey Shore B.B.Q received a sparkling review from Peter Genovese of The Star-Ledger. Genovese concluded that “ Jersey Shore BBQ is head and pork shoulders above most.”

At Jersey Shore BBQ everything is cooked “low and slow,” the traditional way to cook great Texas barbecue. All of Walsh’s ingredients are fresh, “I never open any cans,” says Walsh, and all meals are cooked to order. Since its traditional barbecue, Walsh uses apple wood instead of oak or hickory to smoke the meat. Well, the smoked pork was amazing. Instead of stringy pieces, the chunky pieces of meat were smoked perfectly with just the right amount of spices.

The next time you’re in the mood for traditional barbecue and can’t make a trip to Texas, visit Jersey Shore BBQ

One more thing, join their mailing list. Walsh let me in on their whole pig roasts which occur every 6 to 8 weeks in the winter and every Wednesday in the summer. For $20, diners will enjoy a whole buffet of fresh food as well as blues music. I know I’ll be there.

Please take the time to visit The Patch!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page